SWANA’s Core Advocacy Group

advocacy written

SWANA’s Core Advocacy Group was established to encourage communication and collaboration among the different parts of SWANA’s overall structure. Membership consists of Chapter Liaisons, the Technical Division Advocacy Committee, SWANA Executive Staff and the General Counsel. This group is intended to ensure consistency among SWANA advocacy positions at the federal, state, provincial and local levels, where appropriate and possible. The Core Advocacy Group also serves as a resource for information and updates to the chapter and technical division members they represent.

Technical Division Advocacy Committee

Technical Division Advocacy Rep Affiliation
Landfill Gas & Biogas (Committee Chair) Amy Banister Waste Management
Communication, Education & Marketing Carol Simmons Charleston County Solid Waste Department
Collection & Transfer Jim Miller JRMA Architects Engineers
Sustainable Materials Management Maia Corbitt Booth, Ahrens, & Werkenthin P.C.
Landfill Management Nathan Mayer Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County
Waste Conversion & Energy Recovery Greg Gesell HDR
Planning & Management Constance Hornig Constance Hornig Law Offices

Chapter Liaisons

Chapter Advocacy Liaison
Arizona James Peck
Arkansas Wendy Bland
Atlantic Canada Ken Kelly
Central California Sierra Eric Zetz
Colorado Rocky Mountain Neil Nowak
Florida Sunshine Keith Howard
Georgia Murray Griffin
Illinois Land of Lincoln Christopher Peters
Indiana Hoosier Curt Publow
Iowa Society of Solid Waste Operations John Foster
Kansas Sunflower Mike Tabor
Minnesota Land of Lakes Jason Haus
Mississippi Wylie Kapp Perry, Jr.
Nevada Great Basin Derek Muaina
New Jersey Brian Henning
New Mexico Roadrunner Michael Crepeau
New York Bruce Howie
North Carolina Joseph Readling
Northern California Gold Rush Larry Sweetser
Northern Lights Sheri Praski
Ohio Buckeye Kathy Trent, R. Fenton Rood
Ontario Emil Prpic
Oregon Beaver William Tiffany
Pacific Chapter - BC & Yukon Mark Watt
Pennsylvania Keystone Charles Raudenbush, Jr.
Puerto Rico Caribbean Lillian Mateo-Santos
Quebec Chapter Marion Audouin
South Carolina Palmetto Marcia Papin, Arthur Braswell
Southern California Founding Susan Moulton, Frank Caponi
Southern New England Philip Goddard
Tennessee Volunteer Vacant
Texas Lone Star Jeffrey Reed
Utah Beehive Nathan Rich
Virginia Old Dominion Jacob Shepherd, Tim Torrez
Washington Evergreen Becci Piepel
Wisconsin Badger Meleesa Johnson