SWANA’s 2012 Professional Achievement Awards

Public Member: Private Member:
Michael Benschoter
Solid Waste Specialist and Analyst
Town of Gilbert
Glibert, Arizona
Mitch Kessler
Kessler Consulting
Tampa, Florida

Given annually, this award recognizes SWANA Members for valuable and distinguished contributions to the Association, the individual’s employing organization and the general public. The length of continuous contributions and services by the individual is a consideration in the selection.

Robert L. Lawrence Distinguished Service Award

Nancy Nevil
Director of Sustainability and Environmental Services
City of Plano
Plano, Texas

This award is for a Member, or non-member who, by his or her service to the MSWM field, has demonstrated meritorious consideration. Determination of the award is based on the nominee's service and activity beyond normal responsibilities to the employer and to the general public. Not always awarded every year, it represents the highest accolade the solid waste field can bestow.

Life Member Award

Richard L. Wieman
Solid Waste Utility Manager
City of Columbia
Columbia, Missouri

Criteria for consideration includes length of service, commitment to SWANA and its chapters, and superior commitment and service to his/her employer. Only one life member award may be granted in any one year (with exception of the Life Member Status presented annually to the Association's outgoing President). This award is only conveyed with the approval of SWANA's Board of Directors, conveying its stature and entitles recipients to full membership status, without charge, in the Association and all Chapters during their lifetime.