SWANA’s 2014 Professional Achievement Awards

Life Member Award

Warren N. Smith
Retired – Vice President, Director, Manager, HDR Engineering, Inc.
Clearwater, FL.

Given annually, this award recognizes SWANA Members for valuable and distinguished contributions to the Association, the individual’s employing organization and the general public. The length of continuous contributions and services by the individual is a consideration in the selection.

Robert L. Lawrence Distinguished Service Award

Steven G. Tomczewski
Executive Director of Environmental Operations
Maryland Environmental Service (MES), Millersville, MD

This award is for a Member, or non-member who, by his or her service to the MSWM field, has demonstrated meritorious consideration. Determination of the award is based on the nominee's service and activity beyond normal responsibilities to the employer and to the general public. Not always awarded every year, it represents the highest accolade the solid waste field can bestow.

Life Member Award

Lannie Brant
Solid Waste Director
Camden County, Georgia

Criteria for consideration includes length of service, commitment to SWANA and its chapters, and superior commitment and service to his/her employer. Only one life member award may be granted in any one year (with exception of the Life Member Status presented annually to the Association's outgoing President). This award is only conveyed with the approval of SWANA's Board of Directors, conveying its stature and entitles recipients to full membership status, without charge, in the Association and all Chapters during their lifetime.

Honorary Member Award

Dr. Mike Biddle
President, Founder and Board Member
MBA Polymers, Inc. Walnut Creek, CA

This award may be presented to non-members and SWANA Staff for continuous and significant contributions to the field of environmental protection, particularly in North America, with preference to those working in MSWM. Candidates who have been supportive of, and instrumental in, the conduct of SWANA’s mission, directly or indirectly, are given particular consideration. One award is given annually, subject to Board approval.