SWANA Technical Division Awards

Celebrate the best of SWANA!

SWANA Technical Divisions recognize individuals for outstanding contributions to the waste management profession. The SWANA Technical Division Awards will be given out on Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 8:55 a.m. in Ballroom B at SWANApalooza 2019, in Boston, Massachusetts.

NEW for 2019: The first division award for an organization’s leadership in sustainable materials management.

*NEW* Sustainable Materials Management Award

Waste reduction and materials recovery are essential components to the productive and sustainable use of materials across their entire life cycle to conserve resources, reduce waste, slow climate change and minimize environmental impacts of the materials we use. Beginning in 2019, SWANA’s Sustainable Materials Management Technical Division is giving a single award to an organization that is advancing the sustainable use of materials throughout their lifecycle. The award emphasizes programs for source reduction, waste prevention and reuse over recycling and composting, energy recovery, and treatment and disposal.

2019 Sustainable Materials Management Award Winner

Interior Removal Specialist, Inc.

Interior Removal Specialist

At Interior Removal Specialist, Inc. (IRS Demo), doing things differently has been a long-standing tradition. From hybrid vehicles for the estimating staff to a fleet of CNG roll-off trucks for hauling, IRS Demo has completely changed the way it performs demolition to prove that greater diversion can be achieved. The company’s method of source separation is combined with a donation program. The recycling yard was designed to deal with what most consider to be problematic materials. This facility now boasts a diversion rate in excess of 80 percent.

Technical Division Distinguished Individual Achievement Awards

SWANA’s Distinguished Individual Achievement Award (DIAA) recognizes efforts on behalf of individual SWANA members for service to their Technical Division or employers, for support of SWANA’s mission, and for overall long-term service to the solid waste industry. Candidates for award must be SWANA members and nominated by a SWANA Member.

2019 Sustainable Materials Management DIAA Recipient

Michelle Leonard, Vice President, SCS Engineers
Michelle Leonard

Michelle Leonard began her career in the waste industry in the 1990s with SCS Engineers, when attending a Southern California SWANA chapter event meant she might meet only a handful of women in the industry. She was nominated for the SWANA Executive Board, where she served as treasurer, secretary, vice-president and finally president in 2016. She is always available to present, moderate, sit on panels, work with clients on the latest programming and—most importantly—to learn new things. Her passion for her work and her depth of knowledge in our industry are unsurpassable.

Michelle Leonard is the 2019 recipient of the SWANA Sustainable Materials Management Technical Division Distinguished Achievement Award (DIAA).

2019 Landfill Management DIAA Recipient

Ivan Cooper, P.E.; BCEE, Principal, Civil & Environmental Consultants, Inc.
Ivan Cooper

Among his many accomplishments during a long and distinguished career, at SWANA’s recommendation, Ivan Cooper was invited as the sole U.S. representative by the U.S. Consulate General Jerusalem to participate in a public diplomacy program on public-private partnerships (P3s), infrastructure management, water/wastewater management, distribution, and regulation regarding the sale and reuse of treated wastewater. He was the sole U.S. representative for the program. At the conclusion of his visit in July 2018, he delivered a presentation titled "Public-Private Partnerships for Wastewater in the Palestinian Areas – West Bank and Gaza" to the Palestinian Water Authority in Ramallah.

Ivan Cooper is the 2019 recipient of the SWANA Landfill Management Technical Division Distinguished Individual Achievement Award.