SWANA's Planning & Management Technical Division

The Planning and Management Division (PM) has more than 400 directors and managers focused on developing innovative solutions to challenges faced by today’s solid waste decision-makers, and provides members with the information they need to stay on the cutting-edge of the solid waste field.

Planning & Management Technical Division Leadership

Robert Craggs

Technical Division International Board Representative (Term: 08/2019)

Robert W. Craggs, Jr., Manager and Solid Waste Management and Sustainability Consultant, Burns & McDonnell

Paul Sgriccia

Past Director (Term: 08/2018)

Paul Sgriccia, P.E., Senior Consultant, GHD

Scott Pasternak

Director (Term: 08/2018)

Scott Pasternak, Senior Project Manager and Business Development Manager, Burns & McDonnell

Robert Smouse

Vice Director (Term: 08/2018)

Robert Smouse, Assistant Director, Solid Waste, City of Fort Worth, Texas

Legislative and Regulatory Committee

Tracks current and pending legislation at the federal and state levels, providing comments and writing letters to elected officials in support of SWANA’s stance on key issues.

Program Committee

Develops and oversees the Division’s technical programs at WASTECON and the annual Senior Executive Seminar. Members also can serve as moderators for technical sessions and contribute to the topic and speaker selection process for SWANA’s regular Webinars.

Training Committee

Provides PM-related training and education through courses and publications, assuring program quality. Technical courses include:

  • Managing Integrated Solid Waste Management Systems Certification Course