SWANA’s Waste-to-Energy Technical Division

The goal of SWANA’s Waste-to-Energy Division (WTE) is to ensure that waste combustion technologies are recognized as some of the cleanest and most responsible forms of waste management. The Division provides information and contacts to help improve plant operations and innovation to enhance WTE’s role as a viable option for solid waste management and an expanded source for reliable and renewable power.

Waste-to-Energy Technical Division Leadership

Shawn Worster

Technical Division International Board Representative (Term: 8/2019)

Shawn Worster, Associate Vice President and Senior Professional Associate, HDSR

Bruce Howie

Past Director

Bruce Howie, Vice President, HDR Engineering, Inc.

Tim Cesarek


Timothy Cesarek, Senior Vice President, Business Development, Enerkem Inc.

Randy Whitaker

Vice Director

Randal R. Whitaker, Chief Financial Officer, Continuus Energy, LLC

Awards Committee

Evaluates nominations and presents SWANA Excellence Awards for Waste to Energy.

Legislative and Regulatory Committee

Tracks current and pending legislation at the federal and state levels, providing comments and writing letters to elected officials in support of SWANA’s stance on key issues.

Program Committee

Develops and oversees the Division’s technical programs at WASTECON®, the annual North American Waste-to-Energy Conference (NAWTEC) and other events. Members also can serve as moderators for technical sessions and contribute to the topic and speaker selection process for SWANA's regular Webinars.

Training Committee

Provides WTE-related training and education through courses and publications, assuring program quality.