SWANA Announces 2005 Excellence Award Winners

Publish Date: 7/21/2005


SWANA is pleased to announce the winners of its 2005 Excellence Awards. SWANA's Excellence in Solid Waste Management Program was created to encourage innovation and acknowledge outstanding programs and facilities that are committed to the "environmentally and economically sound management of solid waste." This year's winners will be recognized at a luncheon at WASTECON 2005 on Thursday, September 29TH, in Austin, Texas.

"We are excited and proud to recognize these organizations as winners of this year's Excellence Awards," said John Skinner, Ph. D., SWANA Executive Director and CEO. "They work hard to promote SWANA's mission to advance environmentally and economically sound solid waste management. They truly are an inspiration to everyone in the profession.

The winners in thirteen award categories are as follows:

Collection & Transfer Division:

  • Collection System Award

Gold: Northern Tier Solid Waste Authority (PA) (Contact: David Terril)

Silver: City of University City —Department of Public Works (MO) (Contact: Evelyn Shields-Benford)

  • Transfer Station Award

Gold: Waste Management of Arizona – San Tan Transfer Station (Contact: Vincent Murphy)

Silver: Addison County Solid Waste Management District (VT) (Contact: Teresa Kuczynski)

Bronze: Greater Vancouver Regional District & Wastech Services LTD (BC) (Contact: Russ Black)

Communication, Education & Marketing Division

  • Communication Award

Gold: City of Tacoma Solid Waste Management (WA) (Contact: Michelle Warmuth)

Silver: City of Plano – Environmental Waste Services (TX) (Contact: Nancy Nevil)

Bronze:City of Newport News – Department of Public Works (VA) (Contact: Dori Brown)

  • Public Education Award

Gold: Delaware Solid Waste Authority (Contact: Wendy Pizzadili)

Silver:Journey Through the MRF Educational Program – Central Virginia Waste Management Authority (Contact: Kelley Hope)

Bronze:Region of Durham Works Department (ON) (Contact: Peter Watson)

  • Marketing Award

Silver: Southeastern Public Service Authority (VA) (Contact: Felicia Blow)

Bronze: City of San Diego Environmental Services Department (CA) (Contact: Jennifer Ott)

Landfill Management Division:

  • Landfill Management Award

Gold: Waste Management's Outer Loop Recycling & Disposal Facility (KY) (Contact: Rick Barr)

Silver:Capital Regional District – Hartland Landfill (BC) (Contact: Nigel Lomas)

Bronze: King County Solid Waste Division – Cedar Hills Landfill (WA) (Contact: Theresa Jennings)

Landfill Gas Division:

  • Landfill Gas Control Award

Gold: King County Solid Waste Division – Cedar Hills Landfill (WA)(Contact: Theresa Jennings)

Bronze: Grand Central Sanitary Landfill (PA)(Contact: Scott Perin)

  • Landfill Gas Utilization Award

Gold: H2Gro – Innovative Energy Solutions – Modern Landfill (NY) (Contact: Peter Zeliff)

Bronze: Los Angeles County Sanitation Districts (CA) (Contact: Ed Wheless)

Special Waste Division:

  • Special Waste Management Award

Gold: Pinellas County Department of Solid Waste Operations (FL) (Contact: Warren Smith)

Silver: City of Hamilton – Waste Management Division (ON) (Contact: Emil Prpic)

Bronze:King County Solid Waste Division (WA) (Contact: Theresa Jennings)

Planning & Management Division:

  • Solid Waste Management Systems Award

Gold: Northern Tier Solid Waste Authority (PA) (Contact: David Terrill)

Silver: Dalton-Whitfield Regional Solid Waste Authority (GA) (Contact: Bridget Sanford)

Bronze (TIE): Clinton County Solid Waste Authority (PA) (Contact: Jay Alexander)

County of Hanover(VA)(Contact: Steve Chidsey)

Waste Reduction, Recycling & Composting Division:

  • Composting Systems Award

Gold: Abington Township – Montgomery County (PA) (Contact: Ed Micciolo)

Silver: Montgomery County Yard Trim Compost Facility (MD) (Contact: Godfrey Ampadu)

Bronze: Rapid City , South Dakota – Cocomposting Facility (Contact: Bryan Vulcan)

  • Recycling Systems Award

Gold: Ocean County – Department of Solid Waste Management (NJ) (Contact: John Haas)

Silver:City of Los Angeles – Department of Public Works – Solid Resources Citywide Recycling Division (CA) (Contact: TJ Knight)

Waste-to-Energy Division:

  • Waste-to-Energy Award

Gold: Montgomery County Resource Recovery Facility (MD) (Contact: Joe LaDana)

Silver:Montenay Bay LLC (FL) (Contact: Kenneth Caine)

Bronze: Great River Energy, Elk River Station (MN) (Contact: Wayne Hanson)

About SWANA:

For over 40 years, SWANA, The Solid Waste Association of North America, has been the leading professional association in the solid waste management field. SWANA's mission is "to advance the practice of environmentally and economically sound management of municipal solid waste." SWANA serves over 7,000 members and thousands more industry professionals with technical conferences, certifications, publications and a large offering of technical training courses.