SWANA Announces 2008 Professional Achievement Award Winners

Publish Date: 8/6/2008

News Updates

The Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 Professional Achievement Awards. The Awards Program was developed to recognize individuals who, through the course of their careers, have made significant contributions to the solid waste management profession. The recipients of this year’s awards will be honored during the Awards Luncheon at WASTECON 2008 in Tampa, Florida on Thursday, October 23.

Professional Achievement Award – Public Member:
Pat Raidy, City of Mesa, Arizona.

Professional Achievement Award – Public Member:
Russ Rutkowski, Monroe County, New York.

Professional Achievement Award – Public Member:
Brian Tippetts, LaCrosse County, Wisconsin.

Professional Achievement Award – Life Member:
Robert A. Epler, City of San Diego, California.

Robert L. Lawrence Distinguished Service Award:
Richard J. Mauck, City of Santa Clara, California.

Life Member Award:
William (Willie) T. Black, City of Mesa, Arizona.

Each of the winners was recommended by the International Awards Committee and each recommendation was approved by the Executive Committee during SWANA’s Mid-Year Meetings held in Silver Spring, Maryland in June.