SWANA Launches Awards Program to Honor Safety Innovation and Improvement

Publish Date: 2/11/2016

News Updates

February 11, 2016

 Caressa Morris
Marketing Coordinator
1-800-GO-SWANA (467-9262)


SWANA Launches Awards Program to Honor Safety Innovation and Improvement
Awards to be presented at WASTECON® 2016

Silver Spring, MD – The Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) aims to inspire the industry with great examples of a commitment to worker safety and health that can be emulated by others, through its new Safety Awards program.

The new Safety Awards program includes two categories: Best Safety Innovation and Biggest Safety Improvement. This effort seeks to honor organizations that are demonstrating their commitment to safety through thoughtful and original safety initiatives. Members of SWANA’s Technical Divisions’ Safety and Award Committees will serve as judges.

Golder Associates is the official sponsor of SWANA’s 2016 Safety Awards Program. Golder Associates delivers solutions to help companies and organizations achieve their sustainable development goals by providing consulting, design and construction services in earth, environment and related areas of energy.

“At Golder, we care about the health and safety of our people, our business partners and contractors, our clients, the public, and the environments in which we live and work,” said Golder Associates’ National Health and Safety Advisor Renee Weaver. “We extend this caring through our support of programs such as SWANA’s Safety Awards and are very proud to be the first official sponsor of this awards program,” added North American Waste Leader Andy Nickodem.

SWANA has a strong commitment to safety and is determined to help move the waste collection industry off of the federal government’s list of 10 most dangerous jobs. The two new awards are among the association’s many programs to support safe industry practices.

“SWANA is pleased to add these new awards to our growing list of safety initiatives," said SWANA Executive Director and CEO David Biderman. “They are a terrific way to recognize safety leaders in the industry, and I encourage both public and private sector employees to participate.”

Biderman added, “We expect these awards will spur the sharing of best practices and innovations, and help improve safety at waste operations throughout the United States and Canada.”

Award submissions will be accepted through March 31, 2016. SWANA intends to present the winner and runner up in both categories at its annual WASTECON® conference, August 24-27, 2016, in Indianapolis, Indiana.

For information on Awards eligibility and criteria, please visit https://SWANA.org/safetyawards.


About SWANA:

The Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) is an organization of more than 8,300 public and private sector professionals committed to advancing from solid waste management to resource management through their shared emphasis on education, advocacy and research. For more than 50 years, SWANA has been the leading association in the solid waste management field. SWANA serves industry professionals through technical conferences, certifications, publications and a large offering of technical training courses. For more information, visit www.SWANA.org.


The Solid Waste Association of North America, 1100 Wayne Ave, Ste 650, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone - 301-585-2898 | Fax - 301-589-7068
Follow SWANA: Web | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn