Since its founding in 1961, the Solid Waste Association of North America continues to fullfill its mission “to advance the practice of environmentally and economically sound management of municipal solid waste in North America.” Today SWANA continues to grow with more than 9,000 members and 45 chapters in the United States and Canada.

Through the vision and commitment of a group of SWANA members, the Applied Research Foundation was created in the fall of 2000. The goal of the foundation is to support SWANA’s mission through leveraging research dollars to conduct collectively-funded and defined applied research projects that address pressing solid waste issues.

By working together, subscribing organizations have the unique opportunity to determine what research topics should be addressed and to participate in the conduct of the research. The results of this research increase knowledge and efficiency by directly confronting problems of the solid waste industry.

SWANA Applied Research Foundation – Fiscal Year 2017 Subscribers

FY2017 Disposal Group
Jurisdiction Representative Title
Chester County Solid Waste Authority (PA) Robert Watts Executive Director
Delaware County Solid Waste Authority (PA) Joseph Vasturia, PE Chief Executive Officer
Delaware Solid Waste Authority (DE) Richard Watson, PE, BCEE Chief Operating Officer
City of Denton, TX Scott Lebsack Assistant Director of Solid Waste
Illinois SWANA Chapter Steven Schilling, PE President SWANA Land of Lincoln Chapter
Iowa SWANA Chapter Mike Classen Solid Waste Engineer (HDR)
King County, WA Laura Belt Special Projects Manager
Lancaster County Solid Waste Management Authority (PA) Robert Zorbaugh Chief Operating Officer
Los Angeles County Sanitation Districts (CA) Frank Caponi Division Engineer
Mecklenburg County, NC Jeff Smithberger Director, Solid Waste Management
Metro Waste Authority (IA) Jeff Dworek Director of Operations
New Jersey SWANA Chapter Gary Conover ACUA Solid Waste Director
New River Resource Authority (VA) Joe Levine, PE Executive Director
New River Solid Waste Association (FL) Darrel O’Neal Executive Director
North Carolina SWANA Chapter Joe Readling, PE Vice President - HDR Engineering, Inc.
Prince William County, VA Tom Smith Solid Waste Division Chief
San Joaquin County, CA Jim Stone Deputy Director of Public Works/Operations
SCS Engineers Robert Gardner, PE, BCEE Senior Vice President
Smith Gardner Inc. Mike Brinchek, PE Senior Project Manager
Solid Waste Authority of Central Ohio (OH) Scott Perry Operations Director
Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County (FL) Mark Hammond Executive Director
City of Tucson, AZ Martin Bey Landfill Manager
Waste Commission of Scott County (IA) Kathy Morris Director
Winston-Salem City/County Utilities (NC) Jan McHargue, PE Solid Waste Administrator
Wisconsin SWANA Chapter Chris Anderson Foth Infrastructure and Environment, LLC
FY2017 ARF Collection Group
Jurisdiction Representative Title
City of Charlotte, NC Victoria Johnson Director, Solid Waste Services
City of Clearwater, FL Earl Gloster Director, Solid Waste/General Services
City of Manteca, CA Rexie LeStrange Solid Waste Superintendent
City of Tucson, AZ Pat Tapia, S.C. Collections Administrator
FY2017 ARF Recycling Group
Jurisdiction Representative Title
City of Edmonton, Alberta, CA Christian Felske, PhD, PEng Technical Specialist
Fairfax County, VA Pamela Gratton Recycling Manager
Monterey (CA) Regional Waste Management District Tim Flanagan General Manager
Solid Waste Association of Northern Cook County, IL Dave Van Vooren Executive Director
City of Tucson, AZ Francis LaSala Environmental Manager
FY2017 ARF Waste-To-Energy Group
Jurisdiction Representative Title
CDM Smith Paul Hauck, PE Senior Environmental Engineer
HDR Engineering, Inc. Joe Murdoch Senior Vice President
City and County of Honolulu Manuel Lanuevo, P.E. Chief, Refuse Division
I-95 Landfill Owners Group John Snarr Metropolitan Washington COG
Lancaster County (PA) Solid Waste Management Authority Robert Zorbaugh Chief Operating Officer
Olmsted County, MN John Helmers, PE Director of Environmental Resources
Pinellas County, FL Kelsi Oswald Solid Waste Director
Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County (FL) Mark Hammond Executive Director
Wheelabrator Technologies, Inc. Mark Schwartz Senior Manager, Business Development
York County Solid Waste Authority Dave Vollero Executive Director