Home / Community / Board of Directors / Officer Elections

Officer Elections

Officer Voting to Begin May 4, 2020

To provide an opportunity for all members to participate in governance, SWANA utilizes a written ballot system for the election of its officers. SWANA’s international Board has authorized candidates to stand for consideration to fill its four top officer positions for the fiscal year that begins July 1, 2020.

FY 2021 SWANA Officer Nominees


Brenda A. Haney, P.E.

Solid Waste Director, City of Lubbock, Texas

Brenda Haney has nearly 30 years of experience in civil engineering, with more than 25 of these years exclusively in solid waste management. For the City of Lubbock, Texas, she directs the activities of the solid waste services department, including refuse collections, recycling programs, landfill operations for both a Municipal Solid Waste Landfill and a Construction & Demolition Debris facility, and Lubbock’s KAB Affiliate – Keep Lubbock Beautiful. Prior to working for the City of Lubbock, Haney spent nearly 20 years with the City of Irving, Texas.

As well as her extensive work for municipalities, Haney spent more than a decade as a consultant where clients included both private companies and municipalities. She has a technical background in water treatment and distribution, wastewater treatment, hazardous waste remediation and construction oversight.

Ms. Haney has been an active member of SWANA continuously since 2000 and intermittently since 1994. She has served as a director and in all officer positions for the Texas Lonestar Chapter of SWANA. She has hosted the state Road-E-O and Annual Conference, has been the WASTECON Local Committee Co-Chair, and has been a member of the legislative committee. Brenda was the Lonestar Chapter International Board Representative and serves on the Finance Committee. She is a Registered Professional Engineer in Texas and holds both BS and MS degrees in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M University.

Vice President

Tim Flanagan

General Manager, Monterey Regional Waste Management District

Tim Flanagan is the General Manager of the Monterey Regional Waste Management District, where he manages a team of more than 150 professional, technical, and operations personnel. MRWMD facilities serve a population of 250,000 at facilities including HHW and e-waste recycling, an award-winning re-use store (the Last Chance Mercantile), a 5MW LFG facility and a 450-acre landfill. In his 15 years with the District, Mr. Flanagan has led the development of several capital projects including a $25 million state-of-the art Materials Recovery Facility, $14 million franchise collection hauler truck maintenance and administration facility, a CNG/RNG fuel facility; and the first California anaerobic digester for food waste and other organics.

Prior to joining the District, Mr. Flanagan worked for Waste Management Inc. (WM) for almost 20 years, managing several operations engaged in collections, transfer, and recycling processing. At WM, Tim also worked in the areas of local and regional business development, local and state recycling advocacy and regulatory compliance. He holds a B.A., in Public Policy and Economics (Urban Planning Emphasis) from the University of California at Santa Barbara.

Mr. Flanagan joined SWANA as a member of the Gold Rush Chapter in 2005; he is a SWANA certified Manager of Landfill Operations; and served as Director of SWANA’s Sustainable Materials Management Technical Division, which he also represented on the International Board. In 2016, he was elected to SWANA’s Executive Board. Mr. Flanagan is also a member of the California Resource Recovery Association and the National Recycling Coalition. He is a past member of the National Legislative Committee for the National “Buy Recycled” Alliance and served on the Development Committee for the US Conference of Mayors Technical Advisory Committee for Solid Waste Management and Resource Recovery.


Art Mercer

Supervisor of Landfill Operations, Region of Halton, Oakville, Ontario

Art Mercer has more than 30 years of experience in the waste management industry with a diverse range of involvement in almost every aspect of the business. Mr. Mercer has served on several provincial special strategic project committees and was recently a member of the National Expert Advisory Committee for the development of a Canadian think tank paper, “Cutting The Waste – How to save money while improving our solid waste systems” (Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission).

He is currently Supervisor of Landfill Operations for the Regional Municipality of Halton where he is responsible for regulatory compliance and the safe and efficient operation of the landfill site, which serves a population of more than 550,000.

Mr. Mercer has been a member of SWANA and the Ontario Chapter since 2001, serving as the Chapter’s Vice President, Scholarship Committee Chair and International Board Representative for several years. He joined SWANA’s Executive Committee in 2017 and was elected Secretary in 2019. Mr. Mercer has served on several SWANA committees at the international level and as a member of the Policy Committee, authored SWANA’s T-2.1 Technical Policy on Project Stewardship and chaired a sub-committee tasked with developing a joint statement with the National Waste & Recycling Association that addressed issues relating to the collection of recyclables. As a member of the Executive Committee, he was part of the team that worked on updating the governance structure and is currently chairing the Committee to implement SWANA’s Diversity, Equity & Inclusion initiative. Mr. Mercer serves as a mentor for SWANA’s Young Professionals through the MentorMatch program. He is an honours graduate of the University of Waterloo with a Bachelor of Environmental Studies degree.


Tammy L. Hayes

Principal, CDM Smith Inc.

Tammy Hayes is a public information specialist in the area of solid waste management with more than 30 years of experience. She joined CDM Smith in 1983 and became one of the original members of the firm’s solid waste practice in 1988. While at CDM Smith, she has been involved with numerous public education and outreach projects for cities, counties, agencies and corporations, as well as a wide variety of solid waste research and planning projects.

For more than 20 years, Ms. Hayes worked with Keep Tamp Bay Beautiful on planning the annual Hillsborough River and Waterways Clean-up and chaired the event from 2010 to 2015. She is a member of the American Water Works Association, Meeting Professionals, International, and Water Environment Foundation.

Ms. Hayes has been a SWANA member since 1991 when the organization was still GRCDA. As a SWANA member, she has served two terms as president of the Florida Chapter and currently chairs its conference committee. She was the Florida chapter local committee chair hosting WASTECON 2008 in Tampa and 2015 in Orlando. She represented the Chapter on SWANA’s International Board and currently chairs SWANA’s WASTECON Committee.


Elections will be open from May 4–28, 2020. Ballots will be sent via email to each active SWANA member on May 4. Members who don’t receive a ballot via email by the start of business May 5 can email Deputy Executive Director Sara Bixby at for an individual ballot no earlier than 12:00 p.m. EDT May 5, 2020.