2022 YP of the Year Award

SWANA Young Professionals: hardworking and dedicated

SWANA’s YP of the Year Award formally acknowledges the hard work and dedication of Young Professionals in the solid waste industry. The award, which is presented to three exemplary Young Professional members annually, recognizes YP’s for outstanding performance and dedication to the solid waste and resource management industry.

The inaugural YP of the Year Awards will be awarded at WASTECON®.

Send Your YP Application Today

Now Accepting Applications! The Deadline is August 31, 2022

To be eligible for SWANA YP of the Year, candidates must be:

  • A SWANA YP (35 year or younger) at the beginning of the calendar year of award
  • An active SWANA YP member (Click here to join SWANA)
  • Working in the solid waste/resource management industry for more than three years
  • Application Requirements

    The deadline for applications is August 31, 2022. Selected applicants will be notified by September 30, 2022. Applications consist of the following components:

    1. A letter of interest (LOI). The LOI must answer these questions:
      • Briefly describe your professional experience.
      • Briefly describe your SWANA and/or solid waste industry participation, if any.
      • Briefly describe any volunteer or community activities you are currently engaged in.
      • Why should you be selected for this program?
      • What is your Leadership Philosophy, and how do you exemplify this philosophy in your work, community, etc. (with specific examples)?
      • How will you contribute to the program? What personal and professional strengths can you offer to the other participants?
    2. A completed Application Form.
    3. A current resume.
    4. A letter of recommendation from a professional in the solid waste industry with over 10- years of work experience.
    5. A letter of recommendation from the applicant’s immediate supervisor (or similar).*

    If an applicant is self-employed or in a rare situation applicant is unable to receive this letter of support, SWANA may still consider the applicant, provided that the applicant provides a written statement.

YPs of the Year will be formally recognized at WASTECON during the Opening Ceremony

Three awards will be presented

  1. East Region Winner (Regions 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, & 13)
  2. West Region Winner (Regions 1, 2, 3, 10, 11, & 12)
  3. Discretionary (No specific region)

Find your region here

YP’s of the Year will receive

  • One-year SWANA membership voucher (following the year of the award)
  • WASTECON or SOAR (nominee’s choice) attendance voucher
  • Physical award (to be presented at WASTECON)
  • SWANA Press Releases acknowledging awards
  • Member spotlights heading into following year’s WASTECON conference


Any question regarding the program and/or selection criteria must be directed to Cassidy Brauns or Hailey Tatum.