Safety Awards


SWANA’s safety awards exemplify the solid waste industry’s profound commitment to improving employee safety through communication, best practices, increased company regulations, and accident review. These safety awards reflect SWANA’s continued commitment to worker safety.

Now Accepting 2021 SWANA Safety Award Submissions

New Category Added to Recognize COVID-19 Pandemic Response

Applications due Wednesday, June 30

SWANA is seeking out the Biggest Safety Improvements and Best Safety Innovations throughout the solid waste industry. This year, SWANA is also accepting applications in a third category, COVID-19 Pandemic Response.

Your organization has done a great job protecting workers and the public. Now get recognized for your accomplishments by the largest member based solid waste association in the world.

  • Data should be from the 2020 calendar or fiscal year.
  • The person who submits the application must be a SWANA member.
  • Additional information may be requested verbally or in writing by the judges.
  • Winner(s) will receive a trophy at an awards presentation at WASTECON® 2021.
  • See awards application pages for additional information.
  • Questions? Contact Jesse Maxwell at

SWANA Safety Sponsors

Caterpillar Waste Equipment and Solutions

Cat® Waste Solutions

With Cat® waste equipment, expertise and support at your side, you are always job ready.

New Way Trucks

New Way® Trucks

New Way manufactures powerful refuse trucks, including rear loaders, front loaders and side loaders.



For 80 years, Peterbilt has supplied the North American commercial vehicle market with the industry’s most rugged, reliable and efficient products.

Safe Fleet

Safe Fleet

With disruptive technologies and smart solutions to solve fleet safety challenges, we save lives and improve the safety of everyone on our roads.