Home / Advocacy / Core Advocacy Group

Core Advocacy Group

SWANA’s Core Advocacy Group was established to encourage communication and collaboration among the different parts of SWANA’s overall structure. Membership consists of Chapter Liaisons, the Technical Division Advocacy Committee, SWANA Executive Staff and the General Counsel. This group is intended to ensure consistency among SWANA advocacy positions at the federal, state, provincial and local levels, where appropriate and possible. The Core Advocacy Group also serves as a resource for information and updates to the chapter and technical division members they represent.

Technical Division Advocacy Committee

Technical DivisionAdvocacy RepAffiliation
Landfill Gas & Biogas (Committee Chair)Amy BanisterWaste Management
Communication, Education & MarketingCarol SimmonsCharleston County Solid Waste Department
Collection & TransferJim MillerJRMA Architects Engineers
Sustainable Materials ManagementMaia CorbittBooth, Ahrens, & Werkenthin P.C.
Landfill ManagementNathan MayerSolid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County
Waste Conversion & Energy RecoveryGreg GesellHDR
Planning & ManagementConstance HornigConstance Hornig Law Offices

Chapter Liaisons

ChapterAdvocacy Liaison
ArizonaJames Peck
ArkansasWendy Bland
Atlantic CanadaKen Kelly
Central California SierraEric Zetz
Colorado Rocky MountainNeil Nowak
Florida SunshineKeith Howard
GeorgiaMurray Griffin
Illinois Land of LincolnChristopher Peters
Indiana HoosierCurt Publow
Iowa Society of Solid Waste OperationsJohn Foster
Kansas SunflowerMike Tabor
Minnesota Land of LakesJason Haus
MississippiWylie Kapp Perry, Jr.
Nevada Great BasinDerek Muaina
New JerseyBrian Henning
New Mexico RoadrunnerMichael Crepeau
New YorkBruce Howie
North CarolinaJoseph Readling
Northern California Gold RushLarry Sweetser
ChapterAdvocacy Liaison
Northern LightsSheri Praski
Ohio BuckeyeKathy Trent, R. Fenton Rood
OntarioEmil Prpic
Oregon BeaverWilliam Tiffany
Pacific Chapter - BC & YukonMark Watt
Pennsylvania KeystoneCharles Raudenbush, Jr.
Puerto Rico CaribbeanLillian Mateo-Santos
Quebec ChapterMarion Audouin
South Carolina PalmettoMarcia Papin, Arthur Braswell
Southern California FoundingSusan Moulton, Frank Caponi
Southern New EnglandPhilip Goddard
Tennessee VolunteerVacant
Texas Lone StarJeffrey Reed
Utah BeehiveNathan Rich
Virginia Old DominionJacob Shepherd, Tim Torrez
Washington EvergreenBecci Piepel
Wisconsin BadgerMeleesa Johnson


Register Today for the 2020 MRF Summit

2020 MRF Summit November 18-19

Registration includes real-time access to all sessions. In addition, sessions will be recorded and available to registered attendees for 60 days after the event.

Members $149 | Nonmembers: $299

Register Today!