Home / Community / Board of Directors

Board of Directors

SWANA Board of Directors - Forward Together

SWANA is governed by a 21-member Board of Directors (BOD) from across North America. This group is responsible for setting strategic direction and overseeing the association’s operations and policy positions. The BOD meets in person three times per year as well as holding regular conference calls.

The Board of Directors receives input from an Advisory Board made up of delegates from all SWANA chapters, technical divisions, private sectors and from young professional members. The Advisory Board meets in person once each year in conjunction with WASTECON® and also during the preparation of SWANA’s strategic plan (once every five years). Advisory Board Delegates also participate in regular conference calls to provide input on financial, policy and membership issues.

SWANA Board of Directors

David Biderman

Executive Director/CEO
David Biderman

Art Mercer

Art Mercer

Barry Shanoff

SWANA General Counsel
Barry S. Shanoff

tammy hayes

Tammy Hayes

Vita Quinn

Private Sector Director
Vita Quinn, MBA

Amy Van Kolken Banister

Technical Division Director
Amy Van Kolken Banister

Karamjit Singh

Young Professional Director
Sonia Samir, PE, Ph.D.

Region Directors

James Moore

Region 1 Director
James D. Moore, S.C.

Pat Tapia

Region 2 Director
Pat Tapia

David McCary

Region 3 Director
David McCary

Yolunda Righteous

Region 4 Director
Yolunda Righteous

Mitch Kessler

Region 5 Director
Mitch Kessler, S.C.

Mike Brinchek

Region 6 Director
Mike Brinchek, PE

Dana Blumberg

Region 7 Director
Dana L. Blumberg

Kevin RocheRegion 8 Director
Kevin Roche

James Skora

Region 9 Director
James Skora, S.C.

Mary Wittry

Region 10 Director
Mary Wittry

Mary ShanksRegion 11 Director
Mary Shanks

Sheri Praski

Region 12 Director
Sheri Praski

Genevieve M. Alderson, S.C.

Region 13 Director
Genevieve Alderson, S.C.

Advisory Board

Advisory Board Leadership

Elizabeth RoeChair
Elizabeth Roe,
Sustainable Materials Management Technical Division

Tiffany DunnVice Chair
Tiffany Dunn,
Arkansas Chapter

Philip Westmoreland

Philip Westmoreland,
South Carolina Chapter

Private Sector Delegates

Lisa SkumatzConsulting
Lisa Skumatz

Constance HornigLegal
Constance Hornig

generic headshotManufacture
Terry Schneider

Susanne Passantino

Susanne Passantino

Vita QuinnFinance
Vita Quinn

Heidi SanbornMaterials Recovery
Heidi Sanborn

Dave Kaminski

David Kaminski

Technical Division Delegates

Dan GraeterCollection & Transfer Division
Dan Graeter

Ramona Simpson

Communication, Education & Marketing Division
Ramona Simpson

Amy Van Kolken BanisterLandfill Gas & Biogas Division
Amy Van Kolken Banister

Lynsey BaerLandfill Management Division
Lynsey Baer

Robert CraggsPlanning & Management Division
Robert Craggs

Elizabeth RoeSustainable Materials Management
Elizabeth Roe

Greg GessellWaste-To-Energy Division
Greg Gesell

Chapter Delegates

Central California1N. Curtis Larkin, S.C.
Pacific Basin1Robert A. Perron, S.C.
Southern California1Jeff Southern
Colorado2David Adams
New Mexico2Charles Fiedler
Nevada2Derek Muaina
Utah2Nathan Rich
Oklahoma3Brenda L. Merchant
Alabama4Mike Thornton
Arkansas4Tiffany Dunn
Georgia4Abby M. Goldsmith
Mississippi4Jimmy R. Sloan, SC
Caribbean5Fernando Rodriguez
Kentucky6Tony Sicari
South Carolina6Philip Westmoreland, P.E.
Tennessee6William Brock
Virginia6Raymond F. McGowan, S.C.
New Jersey7Gary L. Conover, SC
Pennsylvania7Elizabeth Osborne
New York8Carla Jordan
Southern New England8Barry Van Laarhoven
Illinois9Karen Rozmus, S.C.
Indiana9Debbie Hackman, S.C.
Michigan9Paul Sgriccia
Wisconsin9John Welch, P.E.
Kansas10John Hawk
Minnesota10Bruce Rehwaldt
Missouri10Keith R. Connor
Nebraska10Lori Calub, P.E.
Alaska11Ted Jacobson, S.C.
Oregon11Jenifer Stuber
Pacific BC/Yukon12Karen Storry
Ontario13Linda Churchill, S.C.
Quebec13Michel (Mike) Binette