Home / Initiatives / Safety / Safety Ambassadors

Safety Ambassadors

Safety Ambassadors

SWANA Safety Ambassadors serve as safety leaders in all 47 chapters in the U.S. and Canada. They organize and speak at chapter events about how to reduce accidents and injuries, and are the go-to person for safety resources within their region. See the list below for your Chapter’s Ambassador. If none is listed, the position is currently vacant.

This program is sponsored by Caterpillar and PRECO Electronics.

SWANA’s Safety Ambassador program is a proud recipient of the 2016 Dive Awards: Safety Initiative of the Year.

Alabama Chapter
Mr. James M. Thornton, S.C.
Coffee County Environmental Services
Alaska Chapter
Mr. Scott Barr, S.C.
Industrial Safety Training Facilitator
Ilisagvik College
Arizona Chapter
Mr. Michael Angelo Prado
Solid Waste Foreman
City of Phoenix - Field Services
Atlantic Canada Chapter
Ms. Andrea Trask, S.C.
Manager of Solid Waste
Municipality of East Hants
Caribbean Puerto Rico Chapter
Mr. Olmar Lopez-Vidal, S.C.
Biomass Green Fuels LLC.
Central California Sierra Chapter
Mr. Kasem L. Cornelius
Operations Consultant I.
Blue Ridge Services
Colorado Rocky Mountain Chapter
Mr. Chris Anderson
District Manager
Waste Management, Inc.
Colorado Rocky Mountain Chapter
Ms. Cathleen P. Hall, S.C.
Solid Waste Director
Pitkin County
Colorado Rocky Mountain Chapter
Mr. Aaron Byrne, S.C.
Solid Waste Director
Summit County
Florida Sunshine Chapter
Mr. Eleonel Lorenzo
Operations Manager
City of Deerfield Beach
Florida Sunshine Chapter
Mr. George W. White, S.C.
Solid Waste Operations Manager
Marion County BOCC
Florida Sunshine Chapter
Mr. Earl Gloster
Director of Solid Waste
City of Clearwater
Georgia Chapter
Mr. Paul Alexander
Safety Coordinator
Dalton-Whitfield Regional SW Mgt Authority
Illinois Land of Lincoln Chapter
Mr. John J. Sliwicki, ARM, CRIS
SVP MRF Operations
Lakeshore Recycling Systems
Indiana Hoosier Chapter
West Area Safety Manager
Iowa Chapter
Mr. Brian J. Seals
Operations Manager
Waste Commission of Scott County
Iowa Chapter
Mr. Nolan Moore
EHS Coordinator
Waste Commission of Scott County
Kansas Sunflower Chapter
Mr. Craig T. Wood, S.C.
Solid Waste Management Coordinator
Johnson Co. Env'l Dept.
Kansas Sunflower Chapter
Mr. Craig Pruett
Operations Supervisor
City of Lawrence
Kansas Sunflower Chapter
Mr. Charlie Sedlock
Hamm Inc.
Kentucky Chapter
Mr. Christopher Lee Powell
Safety Coordiantor/ Recycling Manager
Hopkinsville Solid Waste Enterprise
Louisiana Chapter
Mr. Rodney W. Schamerhorn
Schamerhorn C/D landfill, Inc.
Michigan Chapter
Mr. Donald Pyle, S.C.
Landfill Manager
Delta County Solid Waste Management Authority
Michigan Chapter
Jennifer Bowyer
Senior Project Manager
Tetra Tech Inc.
Mid-Atlantic Chapter
Mr. David W. Horne, Commander, USN (RET)
Chief - Solid Waste
Cecil County, MD - Public Works Dept.
Minnesota Land of Lakes Chapter
Chris Guillemette
Veit Container Corportation
Minnesota Land of Lakes Chapter
Mr. Ryan Tritz
Specialized Environmental Technologies
Mississippi Chapter
Mrs. Amberlyn Liles
City of Oxford, Mississippi
Missouri Chapter
Ms. Becki Davis
Nebraska Cornhusker Chapter
Mr. Jack Newlun, Jr., S.C.
Solid Waste Superintendent/Envtal. Offc.
City of Hastings
Nevada Great Basin Chapter
Mr. Larry Grant, S.C.
Hawthorne Utilities
New Jersey Chapter
Dr. Arie P. Kremen
Tetra Tech - Metuchen, NJ
New Mexico Roadrunner Chapter
Mr. Steven A. Mauer
Regulatory Compliance Specialist
South Central Solid Waste Authority
New York Chapter
Paul J. Zambrotta
Partner & Health & Safety & Secretary
Mr. T Carting Corp.
New York Chapter
Mr. Michael Hughes
VP- Safety
Casella Waste Systems Inc
North Carolina Chapter
Mr. John Pfleger
EHS Manager
GFL Environmental
Northern California Gold Rush Chapter
Mr. Guy Petraborg
Principal Engineer
Monterey Regional Waste Management District
Northern Lights Chapter
Mr. Tim Mallet, S.C.
Landfill Operations Manager
Whissell Waste Solutions L.T.D.
Northern New England Chapter
Mr. Al Sabino
Vice President
Ohio Buckeye Chapter
Michael Waddell
Safety & Compliance Director
Armada Waste OH, LLC
Oklahoma Indian Nations Chapter
Mr. Matt Faulkner
Waste Management Supervisor
City of Stillwater
Ontario Chapter
Mr. Peter Kryger
Project Manager
Niagara Region
Oregon Beaver Chapter
Mr. Bill Dion-Watson
Government Account Representative
Peterson Cat
Pacific Basin Chapter
Francisco Aquiningoc, S.C.
Program Manager
Guahan Waste Control, Inc.
Pacific Chapter - BC and Yukon
Ms. Lynne Vidler
Sr. Project Engineer
Metro Vancouver SW Services
Pennsylvania Keystone Chapter
Elizabeth Osborne
Chester County, PA Solid Waste Authority
South Carolina Palmetto Chapter
Mr. Edwin H. Marr
Solid Waste Superintendent
City of Myrtle Beach
South Carolina Palmetto Chapter
Ms. Tonya Lott
Project Manager
Charleston County
Southern California Founding Chapter
Mr. Jorge Hernandez
North Region Deputy Director
Orange County
Tennessee Volunteer Chapter
Mr. Eddie R. Anderson
General Manager
Stringfellow Inc.
Tennessee Volunteer Chapter
Mr. James Nathaniel Ridley, S.C.
Assistant Director
City of Franklin
Texas Lone Star Chapter
Mr. David Vartian
City of University Park
Utah Beehive Chapter
Mr. Dean R. Free, S.C.,PE
Senior Project Manager
SCS Engineers
Utah Beehive Chapter
Mr. Elliott J. Johnson, LEHS/REHS
Environmental Health Scientist
Salt Lake County
Virginia Old Dominion Chapter
Mr. Dennis E. Batts
Program Manager, Safety and Emergency Operations
Fairfax County
Washington Evergreen Chapter
Mr. Kevin R. Green
District Manager
Waste Connections, Inc.
Wisconsin Badger Chapter
Mr. Erik T. Lietz
President and Principal Engineer
Oakridge Engineering