Honoring Excellence: Discover the 2024 SWANA Awards and Scholarships

SWANA is calling for nominations for the 2024 SWANA Awards and Scholarships. Celebrating innovation, dedication, and leadership in the solid waste industry, these accolades showcase the remarkable achievements of individuals and organizations shaping the future of waste management. Submit your nominations to honor excellence and foster sustainable solutions that propel our communities forward.

Deadline: June 24, 2024

Professional Achievement Awards

Professional Achievement Awards on a table

Professional Achievement Award

Recognition for valuable and distinguished contributions to SWANA, the individual’s employing organization and the general public.

Eligibility: SWANA Member

Robert L. Lawrence Distinguished Service Award

Highest accolade from SWANA in recognition of service and activity beyond normal responsibilities to the industry, employer, and general public.

Eligibility: Member or non-member

Life Member Award

Recognition for length of service, commitment to SWANA and its chapters, and superior commitment and service to employer and industry.

Eligibility: SWANA Member

Honorary Membership Award

Recognition for significant contributions to environmental protection, solid waste and resource management who have been instrumental in supporting the mission of SWANA.

Eligibility: Non-member or staff

Safety Awards

City of Goodyear, AZ with Amy Burke

Best Safety Training Program

This award recognizes organizations that have implemented safety training that results in continuous improvement and has employee buy-in.

Biggest Safety Improvement

Measurable improvement in areas such as leading indicators, accidents rates, 3rd party claims, and more will determine the winner of this award.

Best Safety Innovation

This award showcases an exemplary safety innovation undertaken by the solid waste industry during the previous year to reduce hazards and accidents, develop company regulations and best practices, or improve worker safety.

Workplace Wellness Program

Winners of this award will demonstrate effective health and wellness programs that respond to and anticipate employee needs.

YP Leader of the Year Awards

2024 in balloons

The SWANA YP of the Year Award formally acknowledges the hard work and dedication of Young Professionals in the solid waste industry. The award, which is presented to three exemplary Young Professional members annually, recognizes YP’s for outstanding performance and dedication to the solid waste and resource management industry.

Legacy Fund Early Career Professional Development Stipend

The SWANA Legacy Fund will award up to three stipends to high-potential young professionals with less than three years of industry experience to support attendance at their first SWANA national conference or training center. See details in program outline.