Home / Community / Awards & Scholarships / Professional Achievement Awards / 2022 Professional Achievement Award Winners

2022 Professional Achievement Award Winners

SWANA is proud to recognize the winners of the 2022 Professional Achievement Awards and to thank them for their contributions to solid waste management, public health, and environmental protection.

Association Life Member Award

SWANA confers a Life Member Award to a current member based on the member’s length of service, contributions, and commitment to the Association and/or a chapter; superior commitment and service to their employer; long-term involvement in the solid waste management, and significant contributions to the field of solid waste management.


Murray Griffin

Murray Griffin, Past President/CEO, Atlantic Coast Consulting, Inc., Savannah, GA

Murry Griffin was recognized for “unprecedented” service and commitment to SWANA and the Georgia Chapter, where he served on the chapter Board of Directors for more than 20 years. He supported participation in conferences, Road-E-Os, scholarship, award programs, and advocacy efforts, also serving as a chapter training instructor. His nomination (submitted by Atlantic Coast Consulting and supported by the chapter) presented his “Generosity, Leadership, and Commitment” to the chapter and association across thousands of hours of service, in a long and distinguished career.

Robert L. Lawrence Distinguished Service Award

The Robert L. Lawrence Distinguished Service Award is the highest recognition SWAN gives an individual in the field of solid waste management. This Professional Achievement Award is awarded to a member or non-member who—by his/her service to the field of solid waste management—has demonstrated unusually noteworthy achievements or highly significant contributions.


Kathy Morris

Kathy Morris, Kathy Morris, Executive Director, Waste Commission of Scott County, IA

For more than 30 years—all spent as the Executive Director of the Waste Commission of Scott County—Kathy Morris has demonstrated “contagious passion” in advancing solid waste management services across Scott County, Iowa, the Quad Cities region, the state of Iowa, and the Mississippi River. Under Kathy's leadership, the Waste Commission of Scott County has been at the forefront of implementing new services and technologies, and supporting other public entities in Iowa and the region doing the same. After a short time on the Iowa Chapter (ISOSWO) Board, she continued to mentor chapter board mentors (including a four-year president), regularly volunteer for committee work, support and drive legislative and regulatory initiatives, and volunteer for the commission, its employees, and resources, wherever and whenever necessary on behalf of the chapter, the environment, and the advancement of solid waste management practice.

Professional Achievement

SWANA recognizes members annually for Professional Achievement for valuable and distinguished contributions to the association, the individual’s employing organization, and to the public. We also consider the member’s length of continuous contributions and service.

Professional Achievement Award for a Private Sector Member


Jim Miller

James (Jim) R. Miller, SE, PE, Founder & CEO of J.R. Miller & Associates, Brea, CA

James (Jim) Miller has more than 45 years of experience, with a focus on planning and design of solid waste processing facilities. He has been a SWANA member since 2003, and is a member of the Collection & Transfer Technical Division, where he has served in leadership positions (and currently chairs the Legislative/Advocacy Committee). He has been a guest lecturer at several California colleges and universities, presented at numerous SWANA and industry conferences, and written articles for a variety of industry publications.